Go Back

Hirshhorn Mission and Board

artists + art + audience 
The Smithsonian’s Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden is a leading voice for contemporary art and culture and provides a national platform for the art and artists of our time.  We seek to share the transformative power of modern and contemporary art with audiences at all levels of awareness and understanding by creating meaningful, personal experiences in which art, artists, audiences and ideas converge. We enhance public understanding and appreciation of contemporary art through acquisition, exhibitions, education and public programs, conservation, and research. 

Board of Trustees

Peggy P. Burnet, Chair
John Pappajohn, Vice Chair
Jane Lipton Cafritz, Secretary
Daniel Sallick, Treasurer
The Honorable Kenneth E. Bentsen Jr.
Steve Elmendorf
Kathryn L. Gleason
Ann Hamilton
Robert Lehrman
Dani Levinas
Mark Rosman
Ginny Williams 

Ex Officio 

The Honorable John G. Roberts Jr.,
     Chief Justice of the United States
G. Wayne Clough,
     Secretary of the Smithsonian Institution

Honorary Trustees

Jerome L. Greene*
Olga Hirshhorn
Sydney Lewis*

Emeritus Trustees

Melva Bucksbaum
Joseph H. Hirshhorn*
Barbara Levine

Past Board Chairs

Constance R. Caplan, 2012–2013
J. Tomilson Hill, 2004–2012
Robert Lehrman, 1997–2004
Jerome L. Greene,* 1991–1997
Sydney Lewis,* 1985–1991
The Honorable Daniel Patrick Moynihan,* 1976–1985

* Deceased

This entry was posted in . Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.